FLOSS on iPhone!?! … oh wait

OK, so I was looking at the “cloud” on Technorati and I saw gOffice and iPhone were hot so I clicked on it. I saw lots of cool blog snippets talking about Apple putting the gOffice suite on the iPhone. I thought to myself, “Cool, Abiword on a cell phone, that’s pretty sweet.” Then I noticed they were talking about this goffice and not that goffice. Doh!

Since I’ve been working on gchemutils I have noticed that “our” goffice is kinda hard to find and ended up going to goffice.com by mistake a lot so I really shouldn’t have gotten duped. I must not have had enough water today.

Anyway, it’s one of those emotional roller-coaster, “Wahooo for FLOSS … oh wait a sec … blahhh” days.

P.S. Given that it was Apple I guess I should have known better.

One thought on “FLOSS on iPhone!?! … oh wait

  1. “Given that it was Apple I guess I should have known better.”

    Yeah, I mean it’s not like Apple use an open source OS as the basis of their OS. It’s not like they released a streaming media server as open source. It’s not like they provided open source implementations of Rendezvous/Zeroconf for Linux. It’s not like they have contributed a ton of improvements to GCC. It’s not like they have helped improve KHTML or released their WebKit as open source.

Leave a Reply

