quick thoughts today

So, it seems like there’s a lot going on around Ubuntu. Here’s just some things I’ve been thinking about lately:

  • Django looks sweet. I love their tagline: “The Web framework for perfectionists with deadlines”. I ran through the tutorial on the Django website, very cool. Gutsy has the latest release of django so I just installed it and sqlite3 for database. Nifty.
  • Martin Pitt (pitti) is totally cool, and one of my Linux heros. He’s always helpful and works so hard to make sure Ubuntu releases come out right. Everybody should give him a hug the next time they’re online. 🙂
  • I got to do a little work getting Edubuntu Tribe 4 out the door. I don’t think people realize how tough it is to get a release, even an alpha release, together. This is especially true when trying to get Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Edubuntu, Xubuntu all out together. Even something as simple as making sure the .iso fits on a CD can become a bit of a task.
  • The work I did implementing the Edubuntu Addon CD enhancements spec has shown up in Tribe 4. This provides new metapackages (edubuntu-addon-*) and a customized gnome-app-install menu for the Edubuntu Addon CD (yes, Edubuntu now ships on 2 CDs since Feisty).
  • The Documentation Team’s docuMENTORS program has really taken off. I think one of the keys is to be very responsive to the initial “I wanna help, what do I do?” and to quickly plug people into some specific. Thanks a ton to Phil Bull for heading this up.
  • Ubuntu US is rocking the United States. There are only 6 states without an Ubuntu LoCo team at least started. Sweet! Keep it up folks. Thanks especially to the Ubuntu US mentors helping the LoCos out.
  • This blog has hit 30 posts and 100 comments. I wonder what the average post:comment ratio is around the blogosphere.
One thought on “quick thoughts today

  1. Congrats to the docuMENTORS program from here too, ubuntu-doc now seems to be the most active list (that I’m subscribed to)…

    Hmm. Any reason not to have a US / Nation-wide LoCo team? Canada’s bigger area-wise, but I do suppose it goes by population, and not area… Hmm. Might be nice to form a Super-LoCo in the States 🙂

    If you want to keep a taly, I have 15 posts and 71 comments.

    Cheers,
    Ryan

Leave a Reply

