3rd Semiannual Golden Pony Awards

So, given that Gutsy was released a few months ago I figured it was again time for the Golden Ponies. This is a way for me to celebrate another release and reflect humorously (and sometimes with a healthy dose of satire) on the people and events involved with Ubuntu development.

Disclaimer: These awards are just a fun way for me to celebrate a new release. Obviously I can’t keep track of contributions of everyone in Ubuntu, so if you think you or someone you know should have gotten a Golden Pony and didn’t, I’m sorry. On the bright side, there’s always Hardy Heron.

So without further ado the Golden Ponies go to:

Free Software Advocacy – Scott Kitterman (ScottK) for his performance in Live Free or Die Hard

Best Mobster – Richard Johnson (nixternal) for his portrayal as a ChiTown thug in American *buntu Gangster

Advances in Multimedia Center on Linux – Mario Limonciello (superm1) and team for debunking the Windows Media Center monopoly in MythTV Busters

Distro Release Management – Jonathan Riddell (Riddell), Martin Pitt (pitti), Sarah Hobbs (Hobbsee), and Steve Langasek (slangasek) as the superhero action stars in Fantastic Four: Rise of the Gutsy Gibbon.

“Stickin’ in There” Award – Barry deFreese (bddebian) for his role as a MOTU oldtimer in No Distro for Old Men

Ubuntu Action Star – Luke Yelavich (TheMuso) for super kungfu, butt-kickin’ development action in TheMuso Ultimatum. Seriously, check out his team memberships.

Best in Comedy – Jorge Castro (jcastro/whiprush) and Daniel Holbach (dholbach) as a community wrangling duo in Hot Fuzz

Best Sea Captains – Brandon Holtsclaw (imbrandon) and William Grant (Fujitsu) for steering the ship in Pirates of the UbuntuWire

DE Animated Series – the entire Kubuntu team in KDE the Third … ummm … Fourth?

Best Community – the whole group of Ubuntu contributors (of course) who gave us the world-wide dance hit … License to Party: heck yeah we did it and we’ll do it again in six months baby!

To all you Golden Pony winners, here’s your award:


And Steven Kowalik … this is for you:


See ya’ll next time …


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s