my very own LoCo and other news

I just found out I have my own Ubuntu LoCo, how sweet is that? 🙂 For people who might not get the joke, I happen to fortuitously share the same name as a certain Middle Eastern country. I wonder if they’d make me an honorary member … 😉 Go Jordanians!

So I’ve been running Fedora in addition to Ubuntu on a daily basis for about a month now and today I decided since I’m already living “on the edge” running Hardy I should upgrade my Fedora 8 install to Fedora 9 “Sulphur”. After downloading 1.8 GB of new packages the upgrade went fairly well with the exception of selinux. The silly thing decided it didn’t like GDM and so I couldn’t even log in. I don’t know if this is a common issue (selinux freaking out) for Fedora release upgrades but it put a rather sour note on an otherwise smooth upgrade. At the moment I’m using the Fedora 8 kernel and all is good. Tomorrow I’ll try to get everything fixed up properly (any suggestions welcome). In the next few days I hope to work up a little Fedora 9/Ubuntu 8.04 comparison, from more of a developer perspective. As long as we keep things civil and positive I feel like distros can often learn quite a bit from each other.

On the Ubuntu front, I do believe I’m done for Hardy. Too much dissertation left, too little time. I finished off the edubuntu-docs translations and sponsored Matthew East’s final ubuntu-docs and gnome-user-docs packages. On my personal “Gosh I hope we get this fixed” list are bugs 215729 (Seahorse fails to import keys) and 185854 (Setting static IP in Network Settings doesn’t produce correct data). hint hint

2 thoughts on “my very own LoCo and other news

  1. Just to be clear, Fedora 9 is not released yet. It would be more helpful if you explain how you did the upgrade to the current development release or beta or whatever. Was it a media upgrade? did you use preupgrade or did you upgrade via yum?

    There are two simple things to try regardless

    1) Run yum update and get all the updates
    2) Relabel you filesystem. For that, run

    # touch /.relabel
    # reboot

    Be patient while it relabels on your next bootup and see if that fixes your problem.

  2. Rahul,
    Yeah, a few reboots seemed to clear it up. I did the upgrade via yum for lack of knowing a better way. Like I said, it did go pretty well, though not quite as smooth as most of my Ubuntu upgrades. I’m still finding yum a bit more difficult to work with than apt, but I attribute some of that to having much more experience with apt.

    I’m going to do a more complete post here shortly

Leave a Reply

